The Seven Council Fires

The original Sioux tribe was made up of Seven Council Fires, each of which had its own Seven Council Fires. Each of these Council Fires was made up of seven Bands which were made up of Tiyospayes. Seven is considered a sacred number, as is the number four.

Sharing a common fire is one of the things that has always united the Sioux people, and the keeping of the peta wakan, or sacred fire, was an important activity. On marches, coals from the previous council fire were carefully preserved and used to rekindle the council fire at the new campsite.

The Seven Council Fires are:

Oceti Sakowin of the Tetonwan

Home | Hococka | Oyate | Tiyospaye | Rites | Stories | Values | Guides | Resources